An obstacle in life…

” Obstacles don’t have to stop you. If you run into a wall, don’t turn around and give up. Figure out how to climb it, go through it, or work around it.” -Michael Jordan

This has been my struggle for the last couple months. My husband and I had been training for a half-marathon. Seems like a big tasking. We normally try and keep fit by going to the gym, the tennis courts, use the treadmills, or run outside here and there. Not 13.1 miles however. This was our goal for the year, our New Years Resolution. Then I blew knee out on one of our big run days. It wasn’t a first time injury either. I have two screws already and have had two previous knee surgeries, so when it happened I figured it was just some scar tissue moving around. Keep going, keep pushing yourself along. I tried. I really did. I walked and forced myself to run-a little. Unfortunately, it was more than I had originally thought. I’d in fact blown it out.

So here I am with an obstacle before me, a blown knee. This happened in late February. It is now May. The swelling has gone down and I do walk 6-8 miles with my neighbor regularly. I run on the treadmill, and still go out to ‘attempt’ tennis; the problem is I hit that wall. I’m at a limit and can’t push further without another surgery. The surgery will put me out for close to 4 weeks, if I let it. Fortunately, it isn’t a reconstruction or at least we think it isn’t at this point. Just a “scope and scrape”.

The good news out of all this is we signed up for our half-marathon. It is still our goal. I will have 5 months to recover and even if it means I will walk and run or even crawl over the finish line, I will finish our goal. By still pushing for our goal and registering we are climbing that wall, working around the blown knee and going through the recovery-together.

Tomorrow is my surgery and it will be a grueling few days to get through before I will be able to walk without assistance, but it won’t hold me down long. I will be up, moving, walking and running in no time.

Whatever obstacle you have , make sure you don’t let it get in your way. Keep a positive outlook ahead of you and inner strength within you. You can do whatever you put your mind too.

See you on the flip side of surgery.

Leave a Reply

