A day on the range

I never thought I would ever shoot a gun. Me! No way. Last weekend my husband took my friend and I out to a clay target shooting range. Now he is military so yes, he knows how to shoot a gun, reload, fire, and if needed use to his defense- but me???? Hello, first timer here need to show me the ropes.

So him and his distinguished friend (I say distinguished because he is quite the shooter and very savvy) showed us the safety mechanisms, how to load, how to properly hold, where and how to shoot the targets, and how to carry your unloaded weapon on the course. There are a lot of things to remember but most importantly “Safety first and foremost.”

Having never held a gun before I was a bit nervous. We went up to our first target, watched my husband’s friend hit the targets and I was up. Ok, time to see if I could actually do this. I let them help me get set, had the gun held properly and I said ‘Pull’. Low and behold I hit it. Woohoo! The second one came up and I hit it again. Wow! I was so surprised. Where did that come from? The strangest thing too was that it gave me a real feeling of accomplishment. I did something I never thought I would do and it wasn’t at all as scary as I thought it would be.

Now I didn’t want a gun in my house with my child growing up. It is too dangerous and even though he is a teenager now I am still uncertain about having one in the house. I never even had a gun in my house when I grew up. So you have to understand, this was a whole-lot-a- new for me to get out there and try this. However, it is an experience I will do again. Let me tell you why…

There are so many horror stories out there regarding guns getting into the wrong hands that you never really know what could happen. People leave them lying around and young children pick them up, others leave them loaded and don’t lock them up, others still go off the deep end and shouldn’t have possession of one at all. It is a shame that something that has been around for centuries gets such a bad rap. Our ancestors used them to hunt for their food or protect their land, and yes the government used them to take land away as well, but they have been used for years. So many different scenarios surround guns yet the truth is, it isn’t the gun that is the problem- it is the person holding the gun.

Now I am not jumping on the gun control bandwagon and saying I am for or against guns. I won’t do that. What I will do is say that this experience in a “controlled” environment was FANTASTIC! That is why I will try it again. It gave me a sense of freedom and it gave me something to do with my husband besides golf, running, yard work, and the run-of-the- mill everyday events all others do. It’s a challenge. It is also something I can do with my friend who also enjoyed the day as much as I did.

So before you judge and say “Oh, it’s just another gun fanatic spouting off about how everyone should have the right to own…”, reread the post. It isn’t about that at all. It is really about taking a risk and going outside your comfort zone to try something new.

I did and it opened my eyes to a whole new world around me.

20130601-114638.jpg

4 thoughts on “A day on the range

    • I’m not sure I’d go as far as using an AR-15 assault rifle. That isn’t what my post was about. I’m just happy to have taken a risk and stepped out of a comfort zone and tried something different. Everyone has their own opinions, but mine was simply to do something out of the ordinary.

  1. I think that it is amazing that you went outside your comfort zone and tried something new. Life is about experiences and how you deal with them. I highly recommend pistols next time.

Leave a Reply

