Music is all around us

I was looking through some old boxes, clearing some things out that I have no further use for when I came across a black and white photograph. Obviously it was very old as every picture I can remember being taken has been processed in color.

The photograph was of two young men in a house, one playing a guitar and the other playing a fiddle. It was taken some time in the 1950s and I was curious as to what it was they were playing. They looked happy and were enjoying playing side by side. I put the photo aside and continued clearing out unused items as I listened to my own selection of music, but I kept thinking about the two men in the photograph. What type of music were they playing? How did they select what to play?

I started to think of all the different ways that music is embedded into our lives. Music has been played for kings and queens for centuries. It has been played at weddings, funerals, and gatherings; some people have played in family settings as a way to pass the evening. Still others play for our enjoyment on stages and in large stadium venues. Music can be found everywhere, even on an ice cream truck.

So where am I going with this? People in general seem to like music, play music, have a favorite artist, or genre. Music is an expression or an emotion that is played and as a listener we make the choice to either like it or not like it. I tend to listen to various types of music to balance out the mood I may be in, clean the house, or simply get me through a run. Yea, you need it sometimes to get through a long stretch.

How does this all relate to the photograph? The young man playing the fiddle, he was my father, and use to play for his family growing up. He also use to listen to music all the time. As a kid, he would take us to see entertainers like Roy Clark and Bobby Vinton (hopefully you know who they are). I guess what I’m saying is music is a part of life. You hear it, you feel it, you relate to it. Sometimes you even get clarity from it.

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and life to everything.” – Plato

Leave a Reply

