Road to recovery, part 2

As you know I had knee surgery about a month ago. Just a little scope and scrape but there is still a recovery time as there is with any surgery. As I neared week two, I couldn’t take staying inside much longer so I went to the gym and walked on the treadmill. No harm done as I needed to get out and walk to move the knee a bit. I also attempted to work on some of the machines to strengthen the muscles around the knee. The doctors have said it looks good and I am well on my way to running again, but want me to take it S-L-O-W. Um….that isn’t really in my vocabulary but I am trying to take it as slow as I can since atrophy is not a friend and muscle is a much better companion.

Anyway, everything is going well. I went on a couple walks with my neighbor, walked a college campus with my family, and now, this week I am back to running. Yay! It may be on a treadmill to start, but it is running.

If you run you know how it feels to be back up and moving. The next step is the road. Our event is in 134 days and all there is now is training, focus, hard work, and determination ahead.

Leave a Reply

