My meaning of home

If you had the opportunity to live a nomadic life, traveling from place to place, would you do it? Do you need a home base? What makes a place “home” to you?

I grew up in one place for 18 years, moved after that five times to finally settle into my own house 14 years ago. I like my house and can call it a home. It gives me comfort knowing that I have someplace to come back to when I do travel, but we don’t plan on staying in this house forever.

My husband and I made a pact a while back. This was after we had moved around with the government every couple years to Hawaii, Las Vegas and California. It was difficult for me to find a job that I enjoyed, raise our son, and complete second degrees. We decided that we would stay long enough in one place for us to complete second degrees, find a career I enjoyed, and then if the timing was right, and our son was in between schools, we’d move. Well we are still here 10 years after the second degrees were finished. Our plan didn’t exactly pan out, but it isn’t lost either. A lot of good has come from staying but we are now just waiting for our son to complete high school and are ready to move on. People ask, ‘aren’t you worried that your son won’t have a HOME to come back too?’ Of course he will have a home. His home is wherever Mom and Dad are. It isn’t like we will leave all his stuff here, even though we joke with him about turning his room into a retreat for old folks or a Man Cave, but all jokes aside he knows that wherever we are that is where home will be.

At this stage in our life we are not tied to a building. We are okay traveling from place to place but not in the true nomadic fashion or lifestyle that people are accustomed too. We’d be fine going for a couple years to a location and packing up and moving again. We’d also be fine packing up and moving to an entirely different state. I’m not locked into a job right now so if my husband were to move us after my son graduates then ‘Farewell California it’s been real’.

Home is what you make of wherever you are. Today, the house that we live in I have made a home for my family. Tomorrow may have a different front door, a different porch, a different view, but it will still be our home.

In response to the Daily Prompt: There’s No Place Like Home

7 thoughts on “My meaning of home

  1. We also moved around a lot in the first 20 years of our married lives. The next 20 we lived in one place. Egad! And now? We’ve been on the road for 7 months and plan to continue around the world for a trip that will last 22 months. Whatever makes you happy. Whatever inspires you. The kids have their own lives. When family gets together now, we don’t necessarily get together at “home” but usually somewhere fun and new and interesting.

  2. Pingback: Nomadic Life? Maybe In A Different Age | Black and White Heart

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: There’s No Place Like Home | flow of my soul

  4. Pingback: Love is home | Life is great

  5. Pingback: Listening to the little voices in my head: ‘there’s no place like home…’ | 3rdculturechildren

Leave a Reply

