What’s in a name?

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

I never really gave the meaning of my name a lot of thought. It isn’t something that I would have done on an average day so there wouldn’t have been a reason too. I can tell you that I would always get teased as a kid or associated with Batman and knew that the kids were always foolish because they could never spell my name right. Silly kids. I knew I could never be Batman’s sidekick. I was a girl. If anything I wanted to be Wonder Woman.

Looking further into my name though it means bright, shining, or famed. I think it better suits me than the alternative choices that my parents were going to call me: Renee or Sarah. First, I am nothing of the reborn type. It just isn’t me. Second, I am no Princess. I don’t need anyone waiting on me, catering to me, etc… Pay attention from time to time because you may miss something, but definitely not a Princess. So I am happy with my name.

As for my child…he is a “helmeted warrior”. It completely suits him too. We didn’t throw many names around for him, but when we found his name it stuck with us. I’ve attached an article here that I’ve written (under my pen name of course and a meaning for ((Lyn)) is of the lake) which is true considering I grew up around a lake.

Our Children’s Names: Unique or Challenging?

As for why my parents chose my name, I really do not know. I just know there were three choices and they went with the name I have today.

In response to the Daily Prompt:Name That…You!

9 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: The Naming Game | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  5. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  6. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  7. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | My Atheist Blog

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

