It isn’t easy but I’m learning

Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? Why?

Nothing has ever been easy to ask for. As long as I can remember it has always been something that I struggle with both internally and verbally. When I finally do get to the point that I need help I find myself screaming on the inside like a Beatles concert.

Growing up I didn’t have someone do things for me all the time. Every Saturday it was time to do chores around the house. Each of us had our specific chores and during the summer months guess who was out there with the hand trimmers trimming the edges of the lawn? Oh yeah, not the gardener and not the electric trimmer either. It was do your work and then you can do what you wanted. Parents definitely put work ethic into us children early on and maybe that is why if I always wanted something done right I’d do it myself. I have not wanted to rely on people for much in my life, especially friends or coworkers. I didn’t want them to think I was incompetent. Especially in the job setting. When I did ask for help, as a woman, it was seen as someone who is weak and didn’t know their job.  That is the “feeling” that I had and at one particular job that is actually how they made you feel. So I tried to do things myself and not ask for help because I wasn’t going to be “labeled”. Now that I am at home and recovering from that job, I am still struggling with allowing people to help me with certain aspects of life.

I am coming to terms with the word HELP. I know that it isn’t always a bad thing. My wonderful next door neighbor always helps take care of my dog when I go out of town and I love that she does that. I can’t ask for help though when it comes to me.  Maybe someday I’ll get there, but for now it will have to just be baby steps.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNahS3OHPwA (The Beatles HELP- You Tube )

In response to the Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock

4 thoughts on “It isn’t easy but I’m learning

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – IT’S MY LIFE | Phoenix Flights

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Motherhood and Beyond

  4. Pingback: Do I really need anyone’s help? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

