My parachute jumper- I am not!

What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

As a child I loved to be outside, at least when it wasn’t snowing. I didn’t like Winter very much. Living in the mountains was great, but the snow I could definitely do without.

My favorite toy was the Daredevil Skydiver from Fisher-Price. Oh, how I wanted to be that daredevil guy. He would always have the coolest launches when I would throw him in the air and he’d just float down or get stuck on the roof and I’d have to use the broom to snag him down. I use to dream of soaring through the air and seeing all the sites below me. I had other Adventure People from the set and would play for hours with them all. My Skydiver would even on occasion be hurt and have to go to the hospital in the stretcher and be attended to by the Paramedic team. But then I got older and packed my Skydiver away. It wasn’t until my son was born that he resurfaced and now is somewhere in our house with the other team members.

There is no connection however to what I do today. I do not see myself parachuting out of a plane or jumping for any reason unless it was for an emergency. I never went into Aviation or the Military, yet I did marry a military man who does not jump either. I just wish I had that parachute a couple times in the years past but I am standing firmly on the ground now.

He was AWESOME!

20130912-120511.jpg
The whole gang here in an advertisement from a magazine that I remember seeing. The Internet helps you find amazing pictures like this.

20130912-120602.jpg

The beloved Skydiver. I no longer have the original wrapping as this individual does. He is intact though. Parachute and all somewhere in this house.

In response to the Daily Prompt: Toy Story

5 thoughts on “My parachute jumper- I am not!

  1. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  3. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

