Language can be so Cray-Cray

Write about whatever you’d like, but write using regional slang, your dialect, or in your accent.

Now being from California we have our own form of language for the most part. Some might call it ‘Valley Girl or California Slang’. “Like, oh my god!” , “dude, that was tubular”, “gnarly man”, “like, fur sure”. If you were born before the 80s and90s then you definitely know what I am talking about. If not, then your parents may have talked like this or still do. I know that IF needed, I can embarrass my son with my California twang. But I only use it in rare cases. “Like its totally OK to talk like that everyday, but like you soooo totally want to like still be totally awesome, ya know?” (As I snap by bubble gum and talk between bubbles.)

Today’s slang though is different. I don’t know if it is really regional or more nation specific as having just come from a trip where we heard several teens saying the same things on college campuses. Here is a list of some of the things that I’ve snagged from my teen and from what I’ve heard around the campuses:

Hella raw, that’s raw= totally awesome
Cray-cray= crazy
Rachet= not nice, obnoxious person, nasty
Dip= leaving, gotta go, see ya
That’s sick= cool, awesome
Kill ’em = you got him, good one
Ahhhh snap= darn it, forgot something or shoot

This is just some of the various things I’ve heard. There is a ton more, I just can’t remember all the translations right now.

Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction

Leave a Reply

