I’ll stay myself, but I’ll take change- thank you

Tomorrow brings us another year, a clean slate, a fresh start. I know some people want to change their lives and be someone different, but I don’t want to be someone different. I just want things to change.

Every year we make resolutions and set goals. Some we achieve- like this year. I’ve achieved running a half-marathon even after a setback with my knee. I’ve resolved to let things go that have been a drain on my life. I’ve resolved to maintain a healthier life.

This year I finally feel I’ve achieved something. I wouldn’t have done this without being myself. I still feel like something is missing though and that is what I want to change in the new year. I don’t want to be someone else I just want to change things. I need change. It has been far too long and I’m due. I’m not talking about going and getting a new haircut kind of a change. I’m talking about a whole new place, new adventures, new job (that would be very enticing) and a new way of life. I’m looking forward to a new year and new possibilities that only I control.

I’ve already thrown out the dead wood (throw out the dead wood) and I’ve set my resolutions (a handful of goals for a new year) now it is time to step forward in 2014 on my own path and take hold of my possibilities for me. I’m looking forward this year and not back, it’s time to move on.

Daily Prompt: A Brand New You : Effective Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

