I’m an Xer

Think about the generation immediately younger or older than you. What do you understand least about them — and what can you learn from them?

I saw this prompt this morning and figured I’d give it a go. I’m an Xer and the Y’s are what trip me up. I live with a Z so I am learning what we will soon see from them but the Y’s…..that is where I feel our world could use a little more understanding.

I want to learn more about why things are never good enough for Y’s? Why do they jump from job to job? Why are they never happy with the way things are? Where is the respect for those who are older than you? Why so worried about work/life balance?

You don’t know everything, no matter what you learned on the internet or in school. There is a lot to learn from those who are older than you. Stop, look, and listen for a little bit. Put down the phone or other technology and just learn for a while, with a smile. You will be surprised Y’s what us Xer’s and beyond know.

I know we can probably learn a bit from your generation on volunteering, donating and finding a cause to believe in. I think we can learn a little more about being less individual as you Y’s seem to be more friend centered.

Maybe we can share the space we live in and associate more with each other- just stop calling us old please.

Daily Prompt:Generation XYZ

One thought on “I’m an Xer

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ |

Leave a Reply

