Finding the right fit

What direction should one take after being let go from their job? Should they seek a position within the same career field or should they look elsewhere for a position?

I’ve thought a lot about these two questions the last week. It isn’t like the position I was let go from was a long standing position that I was holding for years and years. It was a probationary position with an at-will employer, however, it took me months to even land that position in my field as it was. So I wonder, is it worth staying in the field I am in? There seems to be no movement and even though I am applying in other states, I feel like other states look at the application and think, “I’m not going to pay for this person to move out here”, and then stuff the application into the shred pile. I’m not asking them to pay for my expenses. I’ll pay my own way out, just interview me and see what I have to offer you. I might be the right fit for you, just give me a chance and find out for yourself.

That is the problem I find with some of these institutions. They think that those who apply from far away are expecting them to foot the bill. They aren’t even considering that we might want to move out of our state and move on. I don’t know how others feel about this but it is my opinion and experience. If you have a similar experience let me know. I’d like to hear about it. 

Looking for input.

Leave a Reply

