My treasured trinket

I’ve had this trinket for a very long time. In fact, it has been almost 30 years since it was given to me. It’s been tucked away in its box holding on to its memories until just a couple years ago. Someone I cared deeply about who broke my heart gave this trinket to me and I couldn’t bear to wear it any longer. It was difficult to even see the box at times.

One day I was rummaging through my stuff and came across the box. I hesitated and wasn’t sure if I should open it. So much had happened in my life lately that seeing the trinket couldn’t make matters worse. I took a risk. I told myself, ‘Why not, time and life have a way of healing old wounds and you find strength in letting go of the pain.’ When I opened the box and took out my trinket, I no longer felt the pain associated with the memories. Instead I saw the beauty in the etching of the heart. I was relieved to find a bit of strength inside the box.

Some might think, ‘How can a silly little trinket do that for you?’ I ask you ‘Why have a lucky rabbits foot?’ or say ‘Why have a lucky cat in your window?’ Same difference, it gives you peace of mind, clarity, focus.

Solitude.

It isn’t always something one can explain. Sometimes it is just something one has to experience.

20140226-070629.jpg

DPChallenge: Object

12 thoughts on “My treasured trinket

  1. Pingback: Oranges are the only fruit | litadoolan

  2. Pingback: Wooden Letters | British Chick Across The Pond

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Object – 24 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: The 16th of May 1973 – Louisville, Kentucky | Forgotten Correspondance

  5. Pingback: Miss Neglected | dandelionsinwind

  6. I have a few ‘trinkets’ like this – both in the form of literal objects and also associated sounds, tastes, smells which I want to hold on to but can’t quite face just yet. Time heals…it teaches too. Great post

      • oh definitely – it’s surprising what takes longer than others – don’t you think? I find that not all deep wounds from big events are so hard to move on from while little -almost insignificant- ones can stay with us for what feels like forever

  7. Pingback: Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  8. Pingback: An Insignificant Object | Wired With Words

Leave a Reply

