To Jump With Both Feet

Someone recently said to me, “You tend to jump in with both feet…” I’ve thought about this a lot lately. Don’t we all jump in with both feet? It doesn’t matter what the situation is, we should jump so that we land firmly on the ground. We don’t want to land sideways, or lopsided, or even break something on the way down- we want to land square on the ground so we know where we stand. The person who told me this hasn’t been in my life for quite some time and doesn’t know the struggles or the issues that I’ve had to deal with since we last talked. They just, out of the blue sent a message to me (oh and lied about the timing of the message sending too). Funny thing about time stamps and internet, you always know when things come in these days. So I guess them saying to me, “You tend to jump in with both feet” when I ask why they are trying to connect with me after such a hiatus, to me it seems a bit trivial. Why not jump in with both feet and ask the questions? Why not find out the reasons why they want to talk to me now? Why not get to the root of the situation? If that is jumping in then I shall jump. I’ve never been one to back down. I think it scares people. Intimidates them in fact. I think they feel only men can really do something like that. Women are suppose to be sweet and quiet. Well all I have to say is get used to it. I jump with both feet and make a big splash. I take risks. We all should.

Leave a Reply

