21 Bags for 44 items

I said it would be no madness March. I want to have a positive month, however, I feel that I should share a troubling experience at the base commissary.

Today I had to wait for the clerk to finish her conversation with the other checker, in their native tongue, to swipe my ID card so I could continue loading the conveyer with groceries. As I was the only one in the line, I shouldn’t have had to wait, I feel the clerk should have been ready and greeted me, the customer. However, she was too busy chatting away. Once she took my card, as with any other clerk I was waiting for her to ask me which type of bag as I forgot my reusable totes. Today the clerk, Beth, didn’t even bother to ask what type of bag. So I stated that I prefer paper. She snipped back that they didn’t have paper. She of course didn’t smile either because I must have interrupted her conversation. So as I wanted to continue on my POSITIVE day, I asked her, “How about a smile then?”

“I said we don’t have paper with a smile” she snipped back. I laughed and responded to this agitation by the clerk, “That isn’t what I meant.” “I said we have no paper. That all we have is plastic.” “Okay, but you could be a little nicer to the customers and with a little less attitude.” “I have no attitude!” Her voice got higher and she started to chuckle and flick her teeth at me.

Oh my…. I guess you can’t ask someone to smile. Or even, as a customer, to lose the attitude and be kind to the customer.

I thought about going and talking to the manager but just wanted to go home. I didn’t want my month ruined by someone who will likely have it all come around to them again. Hey will be nasty again and someone else will say something. When I got home, I noticed that ended up with 21 plastic bags of groceries. Twenty-one! Some with only one or two items in them.

20140317-134839.jpg
My one item in a bag ( this to me is a waste)

20140317-134910.jpg
Two items that were double bagged (no reason)

I looked up online where I could recycle all these bags and found the following information:
-take them back to your grocery store for recycling (the commissary doesn’t have that program)
-use as bathroom garbage liners (already have a ton for this purpose)
-use as pet ‘pick-up’ bags ( have a ton for this too)
-do not throw in recyclable toter. Garbage company won’t take them!

So I then looked at the commissary ‘Customer Bill of Rights’. The clerk was less that cordial today and I felt unwelcome. I didn’t like the treatment in the store. Know what the first Article of the Customer Bill of Rights is? professional, courteous service. Yeah go figure.

So to keep my March madness free, I am taking the plastic bags to another store to recycle and making sure that my totes are in the car for next time. As for the clerk, I will try and steer clear from Beth at the commissary. I’d rather not go down a line where they can’t smile, won’t talk to their customers and make you feel like you interrupted a discussion with another clerk that really isn’t more important. The customer comes first, the discussion can wait for your break. Besides it only takes 12 muscles to smile and a lifetime to correct your attitude.

2 thoughts on “21 Bags for 44 items

  1. urgh all of the above winds me up! This weekend my husband sent me ahead with the shopping trolley to the checkout while he ran to get something we had forgotten to pick up… The man refused to start the belt until he had seen an ID – no swiping…just LOOKING at it despite me telling him that my husband was coming. *and breathe* and Every time I get home we have so many bags like you said, it’s actually quite disgusting! But hey…at least you’ve changed it to a positive by giving back so good for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

