3.93 is all I could do today

3.93

I was just shy of 4 miles this morning. I am sure if I ran down the street to the end and turned around I would have made the 4 mile marker but I wasn’t watching my Nike+ Sportband nor was I looking at my phone to see the distance. I just stopped when I made it back to the house. Its alright thought. I’ll take it after only running on a treadmill this week and once outdoors due to the rain and other obligations.

I’ve noticed this past week that as we age we get more stiff and my body has been fighting the weather temperatures quite significantly. Since I had my first knee surgery 24 years ago I have always felt weather pressures. This year it is really bothering me though. After having 80 degree days and then dropping to 50 degree temperatures and cloudy, rainy weather it really took a toll on my body. I felt like I was a 90 year old woman trying to get up out of bed and not only did it effect my knees but also my back. I am beginning to think that I need to do something else like Yoga or TaiChi. I am not sure but something has to begin or I may not be moving much at all soon.

I told my husband if we are to move at all, it has to be a warm and humid location. Not that California can’t be warm, but as we get older we need warmth. Maybe that is why a lot of older folks move to Florida as they get older.

Anyway, 3.93. Not a bad ending to a week. Hope all of you out there who are training for runs have a successful week ahead. I’m shooting for 6 early next week. I’ll let you know if I get there.

 

Leave a Reply

