A parents view on graduation

The time is almost here. In just a little over three weeks (17 school days), my son will be graduating high school. It seems like yesterday he was just a toddler stumbling over Duplo blocks on the floor and learning new and exciting words that we’d teach him while reading in bed each night.

Soon he will be off to explore new academic adventures, scientific discoveries, and engage in a lifetime of real world experiences much like you and I. I am amazed at how time doesn’t stand still when we need it to and how quickly it has passed us by. How in the blink of an eye our children grow up and are off to change the world. That is why we must hold the moments we spend with them close to our hearts and cherish them.

Graduation will be bittersweet. I will deeply miss his three alarms in the morning to get up and out of bed, the constant reminders to complete homework (even though he is an excellent academic student), and the roll of the eyes whenever we ask to put the cellphone down to have a discussion; but most of all I will miss the talks we have together about the little things in life where I get to know more about my son. Graduation is the culmination of my work thus far as a parent and I hope that I have instilled the values, strength, confidence, and a solid foundation for him to move forward in life.

Seventeen school days, no Senioritis, and a successful student who is excited to wear his cap and gown awaits receiving the first diploma of many.

I know that only time will tell and parenting is never over, I just hope I have given him what he needs and that if he needs anything else he won’t forget to call or text.

20140514-083551.jpg

One thought on “A parents view on graduation

  1. Our youngest graduated high school last year, and I can hardly believe the school year is over again and he’ll be back with us soon…for a short time. It’s so wonderful to see them succeed and move on, but SO very hard at the same time. When you truly enjoy your children, as you obviously do, that flying away brings a lot of pain. -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

