There has to be pain to achieve greatness

Do you agree with Jane Fonda’s favorite exercise motto, “no pain, no gain?” Is it impossible to attain greatness without considerable hardship?

No I don’t agree. I believe that everyone should endure some hardship to achieve greatness.

For example, I run. In order to finish a half marathon you don’t just step out onto the course for the first time and achieve your goal. You need to train, put in the miles. Work for the end product. If I were to step out and say, ‘Today I am going to complete 13.1 miles and never train because I am superb’, I would be an idiot. See you in the ER folks. Every great man and woman has had a setback on the road to greatness. It is how we learn.

So, without pain there is no gain.

Daily Prompt: Pains and Gains

2 thoughts on “There has to be pain to achieve greatness

  1. Pingback: Numbness | It's Mayur Remember?

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Sacrifice” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

